What does this mean for me? You will always be able to play your favorite games on Kongregate. However, certain site features may suddenly stop working and leave you with a severely degraded experience.
What should I do? We strongly urge all our users to upgrade to modern browsers for a better experience and improved security.
We suggest you install the latest version of one of these browsers:
Kongregate is a community-driven browser games portal with an open platform for all web games.
Get your games in front of thousands of users while monetizing through ads and virtual goods.
Learn more »
Actually we DO need an option to delete our account. But I figure it’s probably only something they’d consider for when they build up the new forums. And if they go with some of the best forums, that option will be there automatically.
I disagree with the remove account. I think that only admins can delete your account, not you. There is 2 reasons why people can’t delete their own accounts.
1. If someone else knows the password, he could delete the account.
2. Kongregate doesn’t wanna broken links.
Broken links aren’t a problem, but people hacking and deleting accounts is.
Also, once an account is deleted it can never be recovered for any reason, which means that people making emotional choices could regret it later, and then not want to come back to the site because they lost all their points, badges, and cards.
However, for some circumstances and if you truly, really, want your account deleted we can have it done if requested. You’ll need to send an email to [firstname.lastname@example.org](mailto:email@example.com)
In most cases if you do not want to access your account we would rather permanently ban it, since that is a way to turn off access but allow it to reopened at some point in the future.
Yes they are, Henry. Well, maybe not now but that’s the plan.
And I have to ask, and this is going to sound harsh even though it isn’t meant like it, but have any of you actually BEEN on any other communities/forums?
First of all, if hacking into accounts and deleting them would be a big problem, then how come this seems to be the only community I know of, that is worried about that? And this is even a very new community at that.
Secondly, yes usually when you delete an account, it’s gone for good, but it IS possible to just, say, deactivate it, like for instance Hotmail does. Then, if you have deactivated it yourself, you can always come back later, or your account could possibly be deleted after a certain number of days of not having logged in after the deactivation, again like Hotmail.