Sniping 101

14 posts

Flag Post

The AWP is undoubtedly the most destructive weapon in CS Portable. As such, 90% of maps have at least one guy strolling around with a sniper rifle. Some maps, like snipertowers or Sniper Duel, require you to have an AWP to survive for more than 3 seconds. Some, like rats_v6 or battlefield, are good spots for sniping, though you can still do moderately well with a Deagle or AR.

Regardless, the fact remains that lots of maps feature sniping spots and such. Learning how to use the AWP is crucial to mastering the game. It’s the hardest to learn, but the most rewarding.

On more practical terms, the top-tier clans’ recruitment matches often are in the format of “first 25 kills assault rifles, next 25 kills sniper rifles”, so learning how to snipe is useful to join top clans.

This guide does not claim to turn a complete newbie into a rank 1 methodical sniping machine. However, if you follow this guide I see no reason why you shouldn’t consistently get a positive K/D. Remember it’s a guide. I’ll teach you that camping is not a good idea, but in certain situations(particularly on the toystory map) camping can be very useful.

And now, without further ado, let’s begin.

Mouse Sensitivity
Mouse sensitivity is not nearly as important as some would have you believe. However, it’s still crucial for success in sniping. I find slightly more sensitive than default works well for me, but you should experiment with different sensitivities and find your own “magic number”.

Be warned. Too low a sensitivity may mean that your sniper rifle is unable to shoot effectively at fast moving targets. This is more common than you might think, as people moving across surfaces ripe for sniping often equip knife to move faster. Too high a sensitivity and you might “overshoot” your target, shoot the air next to your target instead of at him.

Physical Surroundings