need help on first project

27 posts

Flag Post

HELP!! i would like to create a game… but it is my first project and i dont know anything!! could someone please just teach me the basics of a game???

PS i dont have an idea for a game but if i used my ideas for this practice, it would make my great ideas look really BAD!!

Please help!!??

Flag Post

I can’t, nor can anyone else can help if you don’t know what you want to make. see, if you want to make a game like pong, you would have scores and simplistic rules. If you wanted to make a 3d shooter that’s different. different people have different specialites.

Flag Post

its not gonna be in 3d im just keepin’ it simple

but if anyone could suggest a simple game that would help

Flag Post

once again, what type/genre of game would it be. You don’t have to go into details, nobody is going to be an idiot and steal the game.

Flag Post

i really dont know but i could use help to find an idea (it only needs to be simple)

Flag Post

2d sidescroller, 2d fighter, bowling…

Flag Post

2d side scroller-fighter, choice of 3 characters, and lets say 10 levels bit like little fighter 2
hows that? i know its small but its my first game and like i said i dont know actionscript.

Flag Post

have n character non-human one human regular and the last a magic person, health bars would be good. have an open environment, secret places… When you get big tell ’em i helped!

Flag Post

yes that quite a good idea, would you to create it with me? you can get me on jmrc94@hotmail.com

Flag Post

lol I say practice the basics

Don’t have to be a game

Exercise 1) create a box. Make it move around with your arrow keys.
Exercise 2) using exercise 1, simulate Jumping, and Gravity.
Exercise 3) Learn about mouse.
Exercise 4) Learn how to make buttons

Eventually you will have enough skills to attempt a simple game.

Flag Post

joshc, a 2D scrolling fighter is far from small mate, that’s a ton of work.