The game loop and other issues.

7 posts

Flag Post

Hi folks.
I’m new to Flash, and am trying to get my head around the programmer model. I’d appreciate it if you could look this over and point out my misunderstandings.

Suppose I have a game with animated (movieclip) player and enemies. These need to move around until they’re shot (or whatever). Then they change to a new animation, blow up, die and get removed.

So we need to:
1)Create new objects.
2)Move them around
3)Do some collision detection and response
4)remove dead ones.

And we want all the code in one place. We have some onEnterFrame interrrupt which is called x times a second, and this has housekeeping code in it, fine. This can read player input, see if they’re dead yet, perhaps keep the score display updated and so on.
1) should be fairly easy. New objects are generally created in this loop or or from some object-specific code.
2) Objects need to know what to do and how to move. Perhaps we keep track of the things we’ve made, then each object doesn’t need a separate event?
3) If we have such a list, we can parse it for any collisions we’re interested in, then use hittest, some trig. or whatever. Then we have to swap them out for a ‘death throes’ animation by switching movieclips somehow. (In fact, for every animation, we’d probably need a new movieclip, because we’re not allowed to put code on movieclips.)
4) We then wait for the animation, counting play-cycles, and remove the object when we know the dying animation is done.

Have I missed the useful flash short-cuts?
I’m having difficulty believing that I’m not. Is there some way of programmatically putting code onto movieclips on certain frames? Then we could have many different animations in each movieclip, with gotoandplay() loops set up. For dying, put removeMovieClip() on the last frame of the explosion, and 4) would take care of itself.