Need Help with Buttons ( AS 3.0 )

11 posts

Flag Post

Ok I’m new to AS in general so bear with me…

I am creating a map, and on this map will have 5 buttons, one for each building. Now when I constructed them I put them all on the first frame all in one layer. Heres my problem, I have 2 scenarios for the buttons, a couple of building buttons I want to load and run another .swf, and then the remaining ones I want to open a web page.

In regards to the web page issue, I have this code:
myBuilding_01.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK,clickHandler);
myBuilding_02.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK,clickHandler);
function clickHandler(event:MouseEvent):void{
navigateToURL(new URLRequest(“http://www.purple.com”));
}

which is cool and all, it works for whatever and whenever I click on _01 and _02 it takes me to purple.com (just a test url for now), but i want 02 to go to a different url, lets say Kongregate.com for arg sake. how can I setup the buttons to do different actions? I tried some trace code and got [object myBuilding_01], now in my past programming experiences I would use the trace() ( toString() ) to determine which button and have a switch statement, but trace throws on the " [object ] " garbage. So if my toString() idea was good, how can i get rid of the extra, because i’ll chop that string down from: myBuilding01 ==> 01 which i’ll use for the switch.

Also Im not sure what the code is to load and run a swf…

Im doing all of this work in Adobe Flash CS3 Proffesional, in the Actions-Frame area ( F9 ). Thanks for the help in advance!

Flag Post

One option is to use event.target.name and a switch statement, e.g.

myBuilding_01.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK,clickHandler); 
myBuilding_02.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK,clickHandler);

function clickHandler(event:MouseEvent):void
{ 
	switch(event.target.name){
		case "myBuilding_01":
			navigateToURL(new URLRequest("http://www.purple.com")); 
			break;
		case "myBuilding_02":