ENTER FRAME vs Timer

11 posts

Flag Post

Hi all

I’m new to AS3 programming, now i’m using ENTER_FRAME event to make my games, but i’m wondering what is the best way to do it. also i saw some examples using Time but i’m not very convinced.

another question is how to achieve framerate independence?

cheers

Flag Post

What I do, and I think its a pretty solid implementation, is to have only one object that actually subscribes to the ENTER_FRAME event. I then, using a whole lot of object oriented style subclassing and such, have all my objects that need to be updated every frame updated by that one main subscriber. This way, flash tells me when a new frame has been started, and then I’m in total control of how every one of my objects updates.

Then you really want to use a delta time (dt) variable and send it to each of your objects. This may seem confusing to newbies (it certainly was for me) but it is very important that your object knows how much time has passed since the last frame update. This way, if I have a ball that’s supposed to move across the entire screen in 10 seconds, it will always take 10 seconds to move across the screen. If I didnt use dt for my calculations and just moved the ball a set amount each frame, then if the game was running at 100 FPS the ball would get across the screen 10 times faster than if the simulation ran at 10 FPS.

A lot of people will say timers are inaccurate, but over the small amount of time between two frame updates using the getTimer() command is fairly accurate, and what I do is in my root ENTER_FRAME subscriber I have a variable that keeps track of how much time has passed since the game started on the previous frame and subtract that from the result of getTimer(). The result of that is how much time has passed since the last frame update, which is our delta time variable (dt). This is in milliseconds and would be about 33 if we run at 30 FPS.