Weird Offer: Programming Help for Flash Knowledge

10 posts

Flag Post

So, I’m seeing some folks post here that they have game ideas and want help programming them. I’m going to do something a little bizarre and kind of do the reverse here.

Are you a flash guru who wants some help figuring out a knotty algorithm? I’ve been writing software professionally for over 20 years. Would you be willing to show me how you put your game together in exchange?

What I’m offering: a couple hours of help sorting out a tricky algorithm or untangling a problem in your software architecture. I’d be happy to exchange e-mails, IRC or instant messages, or do a full-blown screenshare and voice chat via Skype.

What I’m NOT offering: to write your game.

What I’m asking for: a couple hours of demonstration of how your game is strung together, such as where your code is, what your class hierarchy looks like, how you get from Frame 1 to the beginning of Level 1. I have a very strong preference for screensharing and voice chat, so I can ask “where is X?” (Swapping projects via e-mail isn’t much better for me than downloading tutorials, which I’ve done plenty of.)

What I’m NOT asking for: credit in your game or copies of your source code (though if you’re offering either, I’m not refusing).

If you’re interested, shout me your e-mail. I have Adobe Design Premium CS3; I have a very strong preference for somebody who can show me around their project in the Flash CS3 IDE, but I have used Eclipse for a couple of years and I wouldn’t say no to a tour of Flex Builder.

As for my specific offering, I am very good at software design, OO abstractions and patterns, physics, 3D graphics and database management. I’ve never done much AI (such as the pathfinding in games like Desktop Tower Defense), so I can’t claim to be able to offer much in that specific area.

Flag Post

shouted

Flag Post

Hey Chalain,

Drop me an email on http://www.evilfree.com or http://www.flashsponsorship.com.