ACK! What do I need to have to do AS3?

5 posts

Flag Post

Ok.

I have got the demo licence for Mac Flash 8, and I can buy it if and when I need to.

But with the push to go to ActionScript 3 I’m debating going straight to that. (I’m a professional programmer, so the stronger type requirements, and packaging concepts don’t scare/bother me.. as much..)

I do a quick search online and find that ActionScript 3.0 was released with Adobe Flex 2.0 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ActionScript) which seems to be the IDE I need to do this. But then checking into it, it seems that Flex is just a AS3 Compiler and it turns things into flash files. So If I use Flex do I need flash? There are a list of alternatives and it turns out that Flex 2.0 integrates into Eclipse, and Cold Fusion..

I’m starting to panic a bit looking at the price tag of just doing a bit of recreational game programming.

So really, What do I need to develop with AS3? and how much $$$?

All I really want is some IDE that gives me syntax highlighting, a good search and help menu (maybe tab completion functionality) that will let me compile SWF files that I can put on Kongregate. I have a list of AS tools I wanted to develop (a simple random number generator, a vector physics engine, etc)

Flag Post

I believe if you want to compile anything in as3 using art drawn in flash, you’ll need to get cs3. Flex 2 is purely code based.

Flag Post

Both Flex and Flash CS3 support AS3, but if you’re just looking for syntax highlighting and completion you might be better off with something like FlashDevelop (www.flashdevelop.org) — it’s a code editor program, and also has a SWF compiler add-on so you don’t even need Flash technically. It’s leaps and bounds beyond Flash’s built-in code editor, though I don’t think it has any AS3 documentation. You can always use Adobe’s LiveDocs online to get the documentation though.