How can I program? :S

19 posts

Flag Post

Hi,

I am a programmer who is just starting out with AS3, but I find it hard to learn it and this is the reason:

I have got NO talent for graphical design AT ALL.
I’ve been coding for I think 3 years now (I’m now 16), and I’ve got some experience with Java and C++, but my true passion is making games and since I don’t have the funds/experience to make big games, I thought I’d try making flash games. I can easily find my way around in AS thanks to all of my Java experience, but I simply cannot make a game because I can’t design the graphics. Therefor I can’t practice coding in AS and what artist wants to collaborate with a 16 yo who is still learning AS?
I could use sprites I find on the web, or just use standard geometrical shapes, but I don’t really think that could produce a game worthy of uploading and I think its a real waste of time to just code a huge project to just dump it when its finished :S

Are people from lets say DeviantArt/NG willing to design for someone if they get a share from any revenue, but which most likely wont be produced because the coder is still learning? Maybe I should just code with sprites I find on the net, and just code with them to learn? Could anyone supply me with some tips/advice?

PS: Sorry if this is a bit tl;dr but I’m a bit desperate. ow and pardon my english as it is not my native language ;D I’m also not sure if this is in the right forum section :S

Flag Post

You don’t need to be a professional. Just draw some shit, and improve it some times, and every time, you’ll see that it gets better and needs more improvements. You can also improve your drawing skills at school, it’s the perfect place to doodle and it makes you improve really well.

Flag Post

Look up some art tutorials. I too am a shitty artist (look at the art in my games, not the ones I’ve posted in the art sections), and you’ll easily see that.

Flag Post

opengameart.org