So yeah, beta testing time draws near!

119 posts

Flag Post

1) Beta testing—how do you guys find testers and distribute your game to them for beta testing? I realize there’s a few options: Kong’s beta, but that’s only open to K+ users, and FGL, but I’m still not sure if I want to get involved with them since they gouge 10% if you actually sell through them. I’ve also seen people use sites like deviantart. Any suggestions?

2) When it finally does come to be time to seek sponsorships, is it wiser to contact Kong (or other top sponsors) directly, or use FGL anyway despite the 10% cut, seeing as I’m a rookie developer who has yet to build a real portfolio.

Flag Post

1: I spam everyone on my IM contact list until they play and give me feed back. Sometimes I use GDR, but people are usually busier there. I don’t do much beta testing otherwise. I usually get 3-4 good playtesters and 5 or 10 mediocre ones. I’d be happy to beta test for you if you want. IM is truefire87c@yahoo.com if you want to add me (increase the playtester pool on both sides), or you can PM me a link.

2: FGL, easily. The main reason is that sponsors will ignore you if you contact them personally. Some kid made a game and wants me to sponsor it? Or maybe he just thinks he will be able to make a game. Trash without reading. FGL provides a reliable means for sponsors to find game they know are atleast somewhat legit. Sponsors also don’t have tons of free time to deal with a bunch of developers on a personal basis. They like to pick and choose. Not that I’ve ever gotten a game sponsored (I put one game on FGL, just for a contest, didn’t put it up for bidding), but that’s what I’ve heard.

Flag Post

I’d also go with friends. Most of my friends are gamers (or were at some point of their lives) and I have an idea of their skill level, so I can send the game to a hardcore gamer, a casual player and to someone who barely plays games anymore and see how they do.