Open Source Games

17 posts

Flag Post

First off I’d like to say that I am very impressed with the level of patience and helpfulness of the posters in this forum, both Kongregate employees and non-employees. I have visited many website forums dealing with various subjects and this type of assistance and dedication to helping others is a rarity.

After seeing this, and been asked repeatedly myself in the chat rooms something to the effect of “Can you tell me how to make a game?” An idea came to me: why not release my code to the forums so others can pick it apart and modify it for their own use… and hopefully help them to learn programming. There are a couple of issues with this that I can think of, however. The biggest issue is posting the code and files. Is there a space to do this? Or would I have to provide a space to do this myself?

Another issue I have is that I have very little experience with Actionscript and Flash, so I wouldn’t want to pass along bad habits of the language, but perhaps others could help.

Mainly, I just wanted to get other people’s thoughts on this. Thanks for your time.

Flag Post

Well, it would be as simple as hosting the files somewhere on the net, then linking to them from the Kongregate forums. If people wanted to download them, then I guess they could do so at their own risk :)

Personally I wouldn’t worry about whether the code you were giving away is top-quality or not, since your target audience doesn’t know the difference anyway. My only real suggestion is to think about whether it really helps the noobs, to see your code, or whether it would be better to give them a link to the sticky when they ask that perennial question: “How do u make games??” A lot of them will never actually make a game, and showing a bunch of code to someone who’s never even opened Flash before could be less helpful than you imagine.