Using MovieClips to spawn npcs over time

19 posts

Flag Post

I am fairly new to Flash, but have started learning the basics. Is there a way that I can use a MovieClip or Video to spawn npcs (that extend MovieClip) onto the stage over time? If so, is this a good way to do it? Or should do I have to just code a way to save the spawn positions / times of the npcs.

Flag Post

You need to brush up some more. MovieClips don’t “spawn” npcs, and Videos sure as hell don’t.

But yes, it’s possible to write code that does that.

Flag Post

Okay, I think I was being a little vague. I want to know if it’s possible to use the timeline feature of movie clips to create other movie clips on a base movie clip at specific times. If this is not possible, then how would I “write code that does that?”

Flag Post

I think that’s possible, but it’d be far better to code it. Is this AS2 or AS3?

Flag Post
Originally posted by Arloistale:

Okay, I think I was being a little vague. I want to know if it’s possible to use the timeline feature of movie clips to create other movie clips on a base movie clip at specific times. If this is not possible, then how would I “write code that does that?”

You can create a keyframe at the wanted time. In the “action” part of the new keyframe you then create the new movie clip and attach it to the current movieclip.

But as Draco and Amibtious are trying to tell you, this is not the way to write game code and your attempt at making a game will only fail, it’s designed for for fixed animations like an intro.

You should instead learn to write code in either AS2 or AS3 and then use timers or count frames for your purpose of introducing NPCs. :)

Flag Post

Okay then, what would be the optimal way to have a layout of the positions/spawntimes of each npc?

Flag Post

This is AS3, btw.

Flag Post