What is the best Programming language to learn to make games?

11 posts

Flag Post

title

Flag Post

Haxe, C++, LUA, python are some very good picks.

Flag Post

As an experienced C++ programmer, I have to disagree that C++ is a good language for learning how to make games. Don’t get me wrong. I love C++ for the tremendous amount of control it gives me. If you want to write games that run fast and efficiently, C++ is the language of choice. I just think that you can learn to make games faster if you don’t have to wrestle with the intricacies of the language.

IMO, the primary things to learn with making games are game design, mechanics and physics, and general programming concepts. A language or tool that already comes with its own graphics rendering routines is essential because unless you want to learn how to make a graphics engine, having to program one from scratch will not only slow you down but also take your focus away from actually making games.

I would recommend using a game engine to go with the language of your choice; e.g., Python + Pygame, Lua + LÖVE, C# + XNA. Let’s not forget AS3, which already comes with a built-in graphics engine.

If you aren’t already familiar with general programming concepts, I suggest using a game creation tool that minimizes the need to get into programming while having some feature for including actual code if and when the need arises. I would recommend Stencyl, Construct Classic or Construct 2 from Scirra, and GameMaker from Yoyo Games.

Flag Post

You make good points, but I put C++ because OP mentioned that he wanted to learn to make games, not make games. Simpler languages are great for getting a product, but C++ prepares you for other platforms and really helps you make a game from ground up (including graphics :))

Flag Post