Need help with several problems(such as enemy clipping and loading movieclips into an array)

4 posts

Flag Post

Hey,
I am very new to as3 and due to me being sick I am behind on schedule and I could really use some help. Basically I made a top down evasion game. Using this tutorial as a basis http://www.flashgametuts.com/tutorials/as3/how-to-make-a-vertical-shooter-in-as3-part-1/.

I have several problems I have to solve:
1: I need a scrolling background.(I do this using to movieclips but they wont switch to another value for y)

2: I need to prevent my enemies from clipping (I use multiple sorts of enemies).

3: I need to load enemies into an array to spawn them in a pattern.

Probably the most easy one is that I need and endless scrolling background.
It basically are two versions of a movieclip scrolling down and when reaching a certain value for y they should move back up. It starts of good, meaning the 2 versions scroll down but they won’t move back up.

This is the code I am using:

//The speed of the scroll movement.
var scrollSpeed:uint = 6;

//This adds two instances of the movie clip onto the stage.
var s1:ScrollBg = new ScrollBg();
var s2:ScrollBg = new ScrollBg();
addChild(s1);
addChild(s2);

//This positions the second movieclip next to the first one.
s1.y = 0;
s2.y = s1.height;

//Adds an event listener to the stage.
stage.addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, moveScroll);

//This function moves both the images to left. If the first and second 
//images goes pass the left stage boundary then it gets moved to 
//the other side of the stage. 
function moveScroll(e:Event):void
{
	s1.y +=  scrollSpeed;
	s2.y +=  scrollSpeed;

if (s1.y <  -  s1.height)
	{
		s1.y = s2.height;
	}
	else if (s2.y < -s1.height)
	{
		s2.y = s2.height;
	}
}

Any ideas?

For the enemies I use this code here
http://www.flashgametuts.com/tutorials/as3/how-to-make-a-vertical-shooter-in-as3-part-3/