[Q] Do I Need External Scripts?

11 posts

Flag Post

Just wondering how external scripts actually work in ActionScript3. I’m only familiar with VB and I don’t use them in that.

I wrote the code for my game in one script. I drew the game on layer1, frame1. I used Windows/Actions to write the script all on the one frame.

If I want to make a title screen for my game do I need to create a new .fla then, create the title screen and make a .as for that? Then I can just integrate it into my internal script for the game?

Note: As I said Im new to flash. I know code from other languages, but I’m not familiar with flash’s IDE. Are there any tips on where to go for people that know code, but don’t understand Flash?

Flag Post

When you said that you drew the game on layer 1, frame 1 and that you wrote the script all on one frame, alarms started flashing in my head. Those are old AS2 practices that you should avoid like the plague if you want to save yourself some headaches as your game grows. Keep your stage clear at the start and only add objects to it through code. Don’t put code on the timeline. Instead, write all your code in classes.

There’s a sticky on this board on how to make Flash games. It has links to several tutorials, one of which is an excellent tutorial by Michael J. Williams. It was written a few years back for one of the older versions of Flash, but while the Flash interface has changed a bit, the tutorial itself is still sound. I suggest that you go through it in its entirety.