Interacting with other MovieClips in AS3 (Solved)

14 posts

Flag Post

Hey there. So, I’m new to AS3, and I’m having a hard time with interaction. Basically, I wanted a stamina bar for my character that would deplete while sprinting. I’ve figured this out, but it kind of feels off to me. This is what I’ve done:

I created the stamina bar and converted it to a MovieClip (called “Stamina”). I then attached the base of an AS3 Class file to it. Then in my player’s class, I used this code:

“var staminaBar:Stamina = new Stamina();
stage.addChild(staminaBar);”

and this allowed me to interact just fine with it (as in, adjusting the width with “staminaBar.width = (stamina/staminaMax):”), but I feel that I’m doing something wrong because I had to attach an AS3 file with absolutely no functions in it whatsoever to get it to work. Maybe that’s right and I just have to get used to it. Now the real problem enters:

How do I add walls? I could use the above method, but I would have to place all of the blocks in code and that could make it extremely difficult to design complex levels. I was wondering if there’s a way to design the levels on the stage and just have other MovieClips interact with them? If anyone could help, that’d be greatly appreciated. If I need to clarify on something, just let me know.

Flag Post

You’re doing good so far. you just need to add a function called updateStamina, so your stamina bar will show the proper amount you currently have.

its pretty much
this.gotoandstop(currentStamina);

Flag Post

Thanks for the reply, FlashGrenade. As of right now, I’m adjusting the width of the bar based on the stamina. I’ll have to remember the technique you mentioned. As for designing the levels, does it absolutely have to be done in code, or can I place the blocks of walls in the stage and I’m just missing something on interacting with them?

Flag Post