Wobbly rotation

12 posts

Flag Post

I’m trying to get an arrow indicator (Sprite extension) to rotate to show the angle of movement (i.e., the angle between the last polled point of the cursor to the current polled point of the cursor). I am using Math.atan2, which works for the most part, but the indicator jitters and wobbles, like it is not sure of the exact angle, so it comes up with a random approximation.

I’ll post the code later this evening after I get home, but I was wondering if anyone knew of any approximation issues with atan/atan2, or had any other ideas why it would behave like this?

Flag Post

Check to make sure there is a difference between current point and last point. I assume you got it following your mouse or some such? Went thru the same prob when i started coding. One quick fix is to change at which distance the mouse moves to a new position (that is, when your real mouse has moved enough away
from it)

Flag Post

If indeed there is difference between last and current points (ie it isnt trying to find the angle of a line of zero length, which ofc has multiple results) then check if you have any controls on rotation per frame. For example it could be a target angle of 100, with current angle 98 but it moves in increments of say 5, so on next tick it is 103, then it moves back down to, 98, etc producing wobble

Flag Post

Yes, it follows the mouse cursor. Sorry, I thought I had mentioned that.

I do check that it isn’t the same point, and I don’t have a rotation per frame control (I need it to be able to accurately show sudden reversals in mouse movement direction or slow curves in direction).

Flag Post