New to programming - any suggestions?

14 posts

Flag Post

Hello, I would like to ask for the communities opinion on my development of flash games. I am somewhat new to coding and programming and I have decided on using action script 3.0 for a starting base for my flash game development. I have recently bought the book "action script 3.0 computer programming university " and have started to learn how to use action script. From what I here, it is a good starting base for beginners and can create simple games, but is not the ideal choice for any advanced games. I was just wondering is this true, and should I later on upgrade to a better software? I don’t plan on going beyond flash games or iOS/android games, so will this program be right for me? Also, I plan to keep this a simple solo business that I’ll do in my free time for fun and maybe for a little $$$ here and there, so I don’t need anything too fancy. Is action script right for me, or do I need higher performance software? Anything else you think I should know? Please comment and help me out. Thanks!

Also, it is not my number one concern but I’m just wondering at my level how long it will be until I learn action script and be able to make any games? Also, what is the normal pay if I make any exceptional games? I know my first ones will probably earn me 0$.

Flag Post

https://www.dropbox.com/s/cqobo7wrlhs0af3/drakhim.odt

you will need openoffice or something similar to read it.

Flag Post
Originally posted by Motivating:
should I later on upgrade to a better software?
do I need higher performance software?