Word Games

14 posts

Flag Post

I am new with flash, and am trying to do a word game. Are there any standard dictionary functions? Where do I find a reference for them?

Thanks,

Flag Post

Standard dictionary functions?

Flag Post

I have a string and I want to see if it is in a dictionary.

Flag Post

sounds to me like what you want is to implement a very large list of words that the game will parse through to see if it’s an actual word or not.

Well, being new, I would suggest looking for something else simply because 1: Parsing for words out of a neigh-immeasurable list is some pretty complicated code, and 2: unless there is some hidden dictionary functions you’ll either have to search for some pre-made open-source code or make list manually, which would entail finding a big ol’ list of words and copy-pasting the appropriate code to it to form an array of some sort.

In other words, it’s not that easy. Incoming loads of tedious work. If you’re feeling adventurous you could stick the aformentioned list into some non-flash code so that it goes through and writes the aforementioned appropriate code for you in the output window by using trace statements, but play with it and see. The list can’t be too long, however, because I imagine that using a dictionary of words will quickly cap you out above the 10MB max kongregate stipulates.

Flag Post

If you mean does Flash have a built in database of words, no. You’ll have to assemble or acquire a database yourself, then load the data into Flash. You can then use string functions to analyze the data.

Flag Post

I was partially interested in a datbase of words, but also thought some “search this database for matches” functions, they aren’t hard to write but if they existed already I wanted to use them.

Flag Post

An array of words? Oh no no. What you want for something like this is a hash table (or possibly a trie).