Debugging

16 posts

Flag Post

So hey its me again, i was wondering how you experts locate the bug and how to debug it ?

I keep getting this error
TypeError: Error #1006: addToValue is not a function.
at AvoiderGame/onTick()
at flash.utils::Timer/_timerDispatch()
at flash.utils::Timer/tick()

I already defined addToValue in Counter before, can you experts teaches me how to debug or maybe gives me the possibility how this kind of error will happens ?
( Im new in coding, i started coding 3 days ago) and btw the website im learning from is here

http://gamedev.michaeljameswilliams.com/2009/02/03/avoider-game-tutorial-5/

I tried to copy codes from the Developer but i still seems to be doing it wrong i can’t get to implant Second Lasted inside the Game Over Screen.

Experts please teach me how to debug .-. Its getting frustrating i have been stuck on this part for 3 hours

Flag Post

Oh I forgot something, do you have websites to discuss about coding 24/7 , i mean so they can help me when i met troubles in coding

Flag Post

Can you post your code for the Counter class and the AvoiderGame class?

Flag Post

Okay,
This is the AvoiderGame.as

package 
{
	import flash.display.MovieClip;
	import flash.utils.Timer;
	import flash.events.TimerEvent;
	import flash.ui.Mouse;

public class AvoiderGame extends MovieClip 
	{
		public var enemy:Enemy;
		public var army:Array;	
		public var avatar:Avatar;
		public var gameTimer:Timer;

public function AvoiderGame() 
		{
			Mouse.hide();
			army = new Array();
			var newEnemy = new Enemy( 100, -15 );
			army.push( newEnemy );
			addChild( newEnemy );

addChild( avatar );

gameTimer = new Timer( 25 );
			gameTimer.addEventListener( TimerEvent.TIMER, onTick );
			gameTimer.start();
		}

public function onTick( timerEvent:TimerEvent ):void 
		{	
			gameClock.addToValue( 25 );			
			if ( Math.random() < 0.1 )				
			{
				var randomX:Number = Math.random() * 400;
				var newEnemy:Enemy = new Enemy( randomX, -15 );