Forums The Arts

Zed's Art House

23 posts

Flag Post
Well I think it's about time I through my hat into the ring here and show some of the work I have done. I'm not an amazing artist but I like the community here and want to join in on all the fun ;) I'll post some work from my college experience last year if an Design/Art kinda program, and as I make my way through the next 3 years of Graphic and Package Design I'll post some of that too. I do not consider myself to a good artist. Gouache...I had never used the stuff nor did I enjoyed painting in general. This was I think our 3 or 4 project using it; we had to create 4 panels using various color schemes. Below is just a drawing of a metallic chair base using black and white pencil crayons on butcher's paper. I really enjoyed and hated this. The chair base was probably the hardest thing I drew all year and only did so because my friends challenged me to do it. A Metal Kettle. I tried my next to capture the reflections and shine of it. I think it looks best in person and from a distance. Up close I find that it doesn't seem so hot and shiny. Worst Project! Draft a Victorian-esc house from your neighbourhood, then build it...I loathed this project with a passion. I left it until 3 days before it was due and just busted my butt to finish it in time. Building is not my strength.

Flag Post

The Victorian model is badass. I don’t know what you’re talking about. It’s killer.

I know what you mean about gouache. It’s difficult to work with but if you can get a nice, even layer without pools, the dried color is awesome. Those aren’t bad color studies. I remember doing them by the dozen in art school. These days you can whip out 500 of them in about as many minutes digitally.

Nice work, overall.

Flag Post

Posting more stuff throughout the day.

I’ll put up some more recent drawings tonight probably.

Flag Post

Are those both chipboard?

Flag Post