Forums The Arts

Raiyi's Art Stuff

25 posts

Flag Post

All feedback appreciated! Note that I’m 16, so curve the negatives a bit, lol.

I’ve been drawing for about 5 years or so, mostly on weapons and I’ve only branched off from that about 3 years ago. I’ve never had any formal classes, so I’m 100% self-taught. Probably picked up some sloppy habits along the way.

All my art is off of my dA, so if you have some time, come and check out my gallery! http://arislynn.deviantart.com/

Flag Post

Flag Post

Pretty good stuff. I’d like to see your traditional drawings… stuff not made on the computer.

The zombie is, in my opinion, the stand-out piece. It’s got lots of great stuff going on, and I like the fact that it doesn’t use colorful hues… just black. Aside from your signature, you’ve provided a great connection to the character’s eyes. (“Eyes are the window to the soul,” etc.) I like the scrabbly treatment; fits the subject well.

My crique of the piece is minor. The anatomy of the shoulders and neck seem a bit fictional. The sternos seem too “made up,” and I’d suggest looking at an anatomy chart to make this a bit more sinewy. Also, just from a narrative standpoint, why does a zombie have stitches? Did someone actually think they could save this lad? I think the stitches seem a unnecessary. Plenty going on without them.

The weakest piece is Wolverine. It doesn’t seem like you used any reference; just drew it from your imagination. That’s fine, but it reveals more about what you remember (or don’t remember) about the human body than it does about the subject’s character. Frankly, it seems a bit like a tablet exercise. I think you should redraw him but use real photo reference of an ordinary dude styled in a Wolverine way. If you do this, I think you’ll be surprised at how much better it works. Also, again, check your anatomy… neck too long, sternos too vertical, traps too diagonal and geometric, nose too narrow, eyes and ears too high, chin too narrow, and so on.