Forums The Arts

Good audio recording/editing software?

6 posts

Flag Post

So I used up my trial of Mixcraft, and I’m looking for something similar where I can record myself, edit it, and have various effects.
I’m looking for one with autotune too, because autotune is fun. ;D

Any help finding any free software would be fantastic.

Flag Post

Morphvox might be something you may be interested in, although it can cost $40

Flag Post

Audacity is my go-to recommendation for general-use audio editing program. Apparently there are plugins you can use for auto-tuning in Audacity, but I have no experience myself so your mileage may vary.

Flag Post

If you wanna go the free route audacity is a pretty powerful and straightforward DAW (Digital Audio Workstation). The interface is clunky and it can take some work to get it to actually work but I’ve had some ok results with it. I’ve heard great things about Reaper as well, i’m not a fan but a lot of people I know like it. And its sort of free.

As long as your DAW supports the vst format you can go ahead and grab G-Snap which is a fairly good auto tune program. It has its glitches but you’re not going to get the super polished auto tune for free. You can also try Kerovee if it still exists. I had a lot of fun with that one and its interface is a bit less taxing on your cpu. It does a better job if you’re going for the t-pain effect.

You can pick most of what I just talked about over at vstplanet. Its a website with a large host of vst effects, instruments and DAW programs. The best part is its all free.