Forums The Arts

Malevolant33's music attempts.

5 posts

Flag Post

Losing Sanity
2nd Degree Robbery
Silver Wolf
Jewel Blend

Here are a few of my latest creations. My point of this thread is , I have a problem with leaving things too bland. And or either thinking a song is done before it should be lol. I’m asking those who appreciate or know how to make music using computer software: what to do when simple problems like this come up. How do you decide what a good melody should sound like. How do you structure your music? i.e , do you do drums first, create a melody first then work around it?

Flag Post

well.. I can say, as a complete noob at this stuff myself, whatever method works is the one to use.
I started out creating beats and jamming to them. The beats were always relevant to multiples of 4..(kick, clap, kick, double clap. repeat) so my first melodies were also based around 4.
Uploading things before they’re done is really hard to avoid. 90% of the time I upload a track after a single session… Only really having established a melody, beat, and bassline. It’s perfectly fine if you want to upload things that aren’t finished. I tend to do that all the time and never actually go back and change what I thought of later.
I have almost no theory knowledge.. (I can (slowly) read sheet music, and I understand the notes on a keyboard..) I could be terribly wrong in saying this, but creating a bassline or progression is generally the (proper) first step..
Its quite easy to build off a bassline and keep changing things up. If you’ve been jamming for a while and come up with an impressive riff, be sure to create it in an ideas project that you can stuff full of melodies that currently wont fit anywhere.
Assuming you have some synth knowledge and know the layout/workings of your program the order that you come up with things in doesn’t really matter..
(I didn’t have time to look this over, it might sound really jumbled..)

Flag Post