Forums The Arts

Art styles that are good for people who suck at art?

4 posts

Flag Post

Hi, I’m a programmer. As per tradition that means I’m a shitty artist. Shitty artists have always found ways to appear less shitty. Some classics are “purposely badly drawn doodles make games fun” and “using only cubes I can focus more on the gameplay with less distraction”. That worked well a couple years ago, but people are starting to catch up. The time has come where I need to truly practice an art style until I can make visually pleasing games without smoke and mirrors. So my question is, what art style would be good for a beginner (100% noob) to learn? Is there anything not too hard that still looks nice? Also, where do I begin?

Thanks for any and all help.

Flag Post

I think there’s some fundamental styles for art as a whole, but everyone has their own style. I think everyone is capable of art but some people are geared more towards the functioning of things, I happen to be one of the few who has a fairly fundamental understanding of programming and a willingness to further my knowledge in the subject, but I am definitely more knowledgeable when it comes to art; I can still do programming and learn it, it just takes me a bit longer, same probably goes for you, but art may not be your strong point like it is for me.