Backyard Monsters - I think this constitutes fraud

9 posts

Flag Post

Greetings.

I’m an avid gamer – over the last year or so, I’ve spent probably $5,000 on kongregate for various games; either buying packs, upgrades, in-game content, or donating to developers for games that I like. The free kongregate+ membership is appreciated.

Backyard Monsters is a facebook game ported to kongregate. It has an in-game currency called “shinies” that you can purchase for kreds. When I started playing it, I enjoyed it immensely, and dropped a couple hundred bucks to pick up a bunch of shinies.

The problem with the game (as you can see from the game forums) is that while the developer (Kixeye) controls cheating, cheat engines, and hacking on facebook, they offer no support here on kongregate. Script kiddies and hackers run rampant in the game – taking your stuff; literally stealing your money. My neighbors on the world map are gone, their BYM account hacked so that they can’t access their in-game account anymore, glitches preventing players from clicking on other peoples’ bases because of the hacking…when I spend $200 to buy some in-game currency to build a base that gets leveled by an exploiter not even in my world map…

I’d consider that fraud. Kixeye is receiving money without the ability to guarantee delivery of goods. I’m not asking for a refund, and realize that kongregate itself can’t control developer actions.

What you can do though, is prevent future fraud. Investigate the issue, and when you come to the obvious results due to the plethora of evidence available, disallow Kixeye and Backyard Monsters from receiving kongregate kredits. Don’t let players pay for it. Or, affix a warning label to anyone wishing to spend kredits in BYM that the sale is high-risk and the expenditure of their in-game purchases may be stolen by hackers.

Flag Post

Someone pointed out to me something I should make clear…