Looking for decent sprite animator

8 posts

Flag Post

I’ll skip the professional make-believe and be frank…

Im an ambitious programmer and musician with no practical game development experience. Im looking for a half decent artist to help me complete a project of mine (currently unnamed) which I’ve been designing in my head since I was seven.

You probably won’t be paid, because the game will likely never be made, even less likely that it will generate sufficient funds.

The game is a 2d side-scrolling RPG, very much influenced by Pac-Man, Sonic the Hedgehog, and Mega Man. The setting is centered around a primitive people who’ve kept peace by harnessing the mystical powers of the ‘Ancient Coconut of Sorts’. The Coconut has been stolen by an mad-scientist known as ‘ominous’, and the village is at the brink of war.

You play as Muhlando, a cool-headed and thoughtful monkey, and the unlikely protector of the Coconut. You trek your way through various settings (village, jungle, city, and laboratory) to retrieve the Coconut, only to find that it has no mystical powers and has only kept peace through superstition.

Anyway, if you’d like to take a chance with me, let me know =]

Flag Post

I like that your up front about this and honest about the games prospects. While I can’t help, I wish you the best and hope you find someone to help!

Flag Post

Thank you! I’ll keep trying =]

Flag Post

I also like it that you are frank and realistic about your expectations. It’s kind of refreshing to see in these forums. That said, when you wrote that you were making an RPG, warning sirens started sounding in my head. RPGs tend to require a lot more art assets than, say, a platformer or match-3 game.