I just launched a Social Network for Game Developers

12 posts

Flag Post
Hey all,

I've finally finished building the Beta version of my social networking site for game developers: http://www.develteam.com

I'm also an indie game developer, but I've found it difficult to find reliable people to work on games with, and so my idea for Develteam was born. I'm excited to finally launch this site, and look forward to its future evolution.

When you register, your account is a 'Developer' account. Any Developer can create development teams, or 'Devteams.' Using the invite system, the leaders of Devteams can bring new members on to the team and assign them roles in the various departments of game design. Leaders of Devteams can also create 'Game Projects,' which are the actual games you're working on.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SITE FEATURES

Wall Feeds, Messaging, Notifications
-------------------------------------------
- The site has many Facebook-like features, such as wall feeds, notifications, and a messaging system.

- In addition to posting status updates, you can also post Blog entries right to your wall, with full features like text styling and embedding images, flash, and youtube clips.

- You can even 'pin' posts on your wall to ensure they're always at the top.

Site-Wide
-The site has a resources panel, with feeds to popular game development and industry news and Videos & Podcasts, as well as a Book Store with some of the best books on game development already listed. Later updates to Develteam will include user created tutorials.

- There are site-wide categorized Forums and Chatrooms.

-Chatrooms have some great collaboration features, such as Video/Audio Chat, White Boards, and Screen Sharing. Portfolios

-Each Developer can upload various types of media as Portfolio Pieces.