Character design help

10 posts

Flag Post

Hello everyone. I’m working on my first game and as of yesterday, I’m a really shitty artist. Would anyone be willing to help me out on this?

Flag Post

To clarify, the player, enemies and NPCs are all based on chess pieces, so I’m trying to make them like human versions of those pieces. So far Pawns and Rooks have designs already, so I’d need designs for Bishops, Knights, Kings, and Queens.

Flag Post

would you like to show us the already made designs?
I’m too busy to take up any projects, but here are some questions to help you when talking about character and sprites

Just saying humans based of chess pieces still misses how it fits into your game. What kind of world are they in?
Character Design, like in any other design, still follows the belief “Form follows function”. So without function, the form is not going to fit the job.

TLDR: if you don’t make it clear what the question is, you’ll end up with irrelevant solutions.

You need to ask yourself 2 big questions.
WHAT does each character need to do?
HOW will they do it?

Whats the purpose?
This character is an enemy designed to piss off the player

How does it achieve it?
it’s going to do that by blocking half the screen in it’s level, creepy smile and annoying buzz noise complimentary.

What roles does each character have? is there a background story or do they just appear and attack you? What kind of world are they in?
Does the game have a theme? providing a mood board would help (Collection of images that are in the theme. Are the chess pieces hauntingly shiny or rusty and creepy?)
How do they interact with the player, what sort of animations do you need?

limitations of game
What perspective are we taking about? top down? 2.5D isometric? Sidescroller?
Are you working in vector, pixel art, raster drawings, or 3D?
Sprite size (px) – this is going to limit the amount of detail you have