Forums Stencyl

Would Stencyl be a good starting place for complete beginners?

5 posts

Flag Post

My friend and I have next to no programming experience (2 quarters at UCSD for Java, C, and Matlab) and were wondering if Stencyl would be a good starting place, to later transition into AS3 and FlashDevelop. As of right now, FlashDevelop is a little challenging so we were planning on learning Stencyl for a bit then transitioning. Would this be a good idea?

Flag Post

If you’re not familiar with how to do general programming such as making “if” statements or “for” loops, Stencyl would be a good tool to introduce you to these concepts. The code blocks in Stencyl are designed in such a way as to minimize the possibility of syntax errors. Another advantage of Stencyl is that it can help you make a complete game in a very short time. Even if you already know AS3, Stencyl may be just what you need to make a quick prototype. Also, Stencyl already comes with built-in Box2D commands, so you can easily make a Physics-based game without having to learn how to use a Physics engine like Box2D.