How would we terraform mars?

31 posts

Flag Post

Keep in mind, I am not a scientist, I am an intrigued 19 year old. My hypothesis is just that… a guess, with a little tiny bit of education on the subject. I want to know how correct I am, and what the real process would involve.

Hypothetically, if we had the resources to do to it, what process would we undertake to terraform mars into a green planet like our own?

My hypothesis:
We would obviously need plants, and the plants would have sunlight and carbon dioxide(95.32% of atmosphere), but would be missing water.

If we had the means to bring tankards of water to mars along with the plants, we could set up a system that would allow the water to run through the plants, and be recollected… dead plants would have all the moisture extracted from them to run through the process again as well. But this process would somehow allow oxygen out.

No heres where my imagination dies, because I don’t know what holds our oxygen in, which may make me an idiot, I don’t know how common knowledge it is. I have surmised that its possibly our layer of Ozone gas?

If thats true, than we would also need to transport great amounts of Ozone gas, because there is barely more Ozone(30 nmol/mol) on the planet than there is Methane(10.5 nmol/mol)!!! And thats really saying something!

If the process could actually be done, we would also need to move some kind of creature there that could breathe in the oxygen and output more carbon dioxide.
But since approx 95% of the atmosphere is already carbon dioxide, we would probably not need them for awhile I surmise.

My resource

Flag Post
Originally posted by alecz127:

Hypothetically, if we had the resources to do to it, what process would we undertake to terraform mars into a green planet like our own?

Water. Lots and lots of water.

And an atmosphere that we can use, as well as change the temperatures on it.