AX: Causal Determinism

72 posts

Flag Post

First, allow me to give some background information. I became interested in this topic from a few philosophy texts I have been reading, and I am by no means an expert in regards to this topic. I am not 100% sure I agree with everything causal determinism entails, but it’s a concept I feel is worth exploring. This discussion will hopefully allow me to learn more about Casual Determinism and its implications while (hopefully!) providing an interesting topic for you guys to discuss.

Axiom: Let us assume Causal Determinism is true. Free will is nonexistent, and everything event is based on past occurrences. That being said, people’s actions cannot be attributed to themselves, but merely their surroundings and past experience.

So, if this philosophy was suddenly embraces as true one day (lets just say 2012 for kicks and giggles) how would it affect anything and everything?

Keep in mind that this will be a pretty “loose” axiom. I’m perfectly fine with you guys arguing for or against casual determinism, but please denote this to avoid confusion with the AX.

Law

People are no longer accountable for their actions, but will our legal system agree? Should people be punished for actions that they cannot be held directly responsible for?

I’m of the opinion that the law would continue as it does already, setting examples, protecting society, and reforming criminals. Since people respond to their environment, reform is still possible. An example set by our judicial system would also spread, showing people that society (which could be seen as a social environment) does not tolerate this type of behavior, perhaps altering people’s actions.

Will this change the nature of punishment? Maybe so, maybe not. I’d hope for the latter, but if society were to accept causal determinism I’d assume that draconian punishment would be used to set stringent rules and curb crime.

Thoughts, opinions?

Religion