Cultural Games

9 posts

Flag Post

I’d like to make some different games from different ages/civilizations

I’m just trying to build a list of different ones that would be fun to do.
I don’t care about complexity, I even put Shogi on the list!
I’m not a programming noob, I have a lot of prior experience with as3
-Mancala
-Senet
-Shogi

Help me expand my list?

Flag Post

Xianqi/Changgi (Chinese/Korean Chess — slight differences between the two)
Shatranj (Arabian chess predecessor; however, it is probably too similar to traditional European chess to be very interesting to most, so I’d go with Tamerlane Chess, the larger version)
Chaturanga (Indian chess predecessor; again, for maximum variety, I’d go with the four-player version)
see Chess Variants (though there’s a lot of non-traditional stuff on there)
Tablut (Skandinavian strategic board game — doesn’t appear to be on Chess Variants pages)

You know that there are several different versions of Shogi? Tori-shogi (IIRC, the smallest of the variants) to Dai-shogi (the largest (Chess Variants page calls it Taikyoku Shogi) — any game that has room for a drunken elephant has got to be good, though, right?). :)

Flag Post
Originally posted by dragon_of_celts:

Xianqi/Changgi (Chinese/Korean Chess — slight differences between the two)
Shatranj (Arabian chess predecessor; however, it is probably too similar to traditional European chess to be very interesting to most, so I’d go with Tamerlane Chess, the larger version)
Chaturanga (Indian chess predecessor; again, for maximum variety, I’d go with the four-player version)
see Chess Variants (though there’s a lot of non-traditional stuff on there)
Tablut (Skandinavian strategic board game — doesn’t appear to be on Chess Variants pages)