Space Game Design

35 posts

Flag Post

Hi. I’m creating a multiplayer space adventure game and I need a little help with it. I’m not a great designer, so that’s why I need YOUR help.
What I’m aiming for is a game where you just fly around space, maybe do a few quests, shoot enemies, ect. The typical stuff. However, I don’t think I want it to be exactly like that. What makes that kind of game so unique? How would it be fun? Well, to be honest… I don’t know. Maybe it could be the exploration, but how is exploring space fun when all there is is stars?
I also had an idea of being able to dock onto different planets in which the view perspective changes into a 2d platformer style and you can mine inside your machine to get different minerals.

I think I have the potential to make something pretty cool, but my design is just so boring and typical (in my opinion). Would love some ideas/changes (:

Edit: Also any game idea would be greatly appreciated as long as it’s within the space theme.

Flag Post

Feffers, Feffers, Feffers…y u no ask me?
But really, I gtg sleep. Tell you later my ideas.

This post has been removed by an administrator or moderator

Flag Post

How much experience have you had, even reading the deconstructions of other space-based multiplayers? Even studying the design of space-based singleplayers like the Elite and Freespace series would help. Gain an idea of what worked for others, and why. Then you can look at what aspects you like, what aspects you don’t like, and go from there.

Design of any moderately-complex system is going to take a while, and a MMO definitely fits into that category. So, you have time to study other attempts in detail, and make long lists of features you like, to start whittling down into a design from there.

Flag Post

But in space there are so many interesting things! we got black holes, solar flares, man made/alien stations