Realtime Multiplayer Shmup - Work in progress

21 posts

Flag Post

http://rezoner.net/workshop/tactics/client/

Flag Post

I’m liking it. Nice style and what not. Definitely look into interpolation for rotation. Its a bit jerky. I really like the squares representing other planes’s direction and distance.

Flag Post

Thanks @UnknownGuardian

I have added a lot of things since last time – flags, afterburners, improvements, bots, balancing, respawn

Also there is a nice discussion going on on reddit

http://www.reddit.com/r/gamedev/comments/113wpq/i_have_added_flags_to_my_game_i_need_you_to_enter/

Flag Post

Only one word – FUCKINAMAZINGBRO (yes it’s a one word)
I’m not a programmer but this looks VERY good .
Can’t wait for it to be released!

Flag Post

LOLOLI love trolling people by flying around them while they hopelessly miss me with all their pellets.

Flag Post

I have added some more maneuverability options – use A, S, D to strafe – general tactics is to slow down before someone and take him down with bullets.

Also you can fight for your country, as there is a scoreboard with flags :)

Flag Post

Very interesting concept here, how did you handle the client → server → client side? Is there Node.js running on the server? Or good ‘ol PHP (or Python, if that’s your thing)?

Flag Post

@Aceria620: I don’t think it would be possible with PHP.

Yes this is node.js and websockets.

I am quite stuck with further development. Not sure what I want this game to be.

Flag Post

Start prototyping like crazy. Try a bunch of things. If you find something slightly fun, follow that lead.

Flag Post

Blimps. Helis. Big planes. Parachutes. AAs. Guys on the ground. Bombs…

Flag Post

1) Matchmaking
2) Current mode (senseless shooting) will stay as a practice ground
3) Team mode – destroy enemy base
4) Player will have possibility to upgrade himself during the gameplay
5) The second mode will be to esscort a BIG passanger plane on its way to the other side of map

Flag Post