@Designers

2 posts

Flag Post

Hey everyone

I’m currently a student at Shepherd University in West Virginia, and for my final project in my communication and new media class I’m writing a report on a career field I have an interest in. If you haven’t guessed since I’m posting in this forum, it’s a career in game design. One of the requirements of this is that I get an interview with someone who works as a designer, big or small time, and ask them questions relating to the career field and how technology and media have affected it.

If anyone would be willing to help me out, the interview can be done by email, and I won’t have many questions. The only other thing I will need is a picture and a short 150ish word bio about yourself/work as a designer.

If you’re interested you can email me at tjorda04@rams.shepherd.edu

Thanks for reading this and if you’re unable/don’t want to help then if you could bump this post I’d greatly appreciate it!

Flag Post

One of the requirements of this is that I get an interview with someone who works as a designer, big or small time, and ask them questions relating to the career field and how technology and media have affected it.

One word. “Massively.”

I actually am leaning towards never producing another computer game and instead going back to the realm of board games. Easier to prototype, easier to change rules on the fly, easier to introduce new content as scope expands.

Harder to distribute, but I’ve been in it for the design aspect, not the money. If you have a successful concept, you can sell it, no matter its medium.

Per getting paid:
Expect to do a lot of really boring shit. You will be making quiz “games” and speaker-lead Jeopardy-like games (that is: all your program does is display a question and track the scores). And it doesn’t matter how many of them you make, you’ll inevitably end up being unable to reuse any code (or very little) because each client will want something different.