Free Runner [Game/Feedback]

5 posts

Flag Post

Hello, I’ve just started up game programming and I’m looking for feedback from the forums before I go posting a game I’ve been working on.

My game is called ‘Free Runner’ and it’s basically just a simple-side scroller running game; the controls are very basic, you can jump with space, double jump with space and then space again. The aim is to jump from building to building without getting hit by the obstacles that pass.

I’m a programmer; not an artist, the artwork is very, basic/amateur.

The link to the game is: http://www.sythnet.com/games/runner/runner.php

Just looking for users opinions on the game so far.

Thanks

- Sythnet

Flag Post

You need a way to turn the music off. The collision detection is iffy (character went through a building with a tunnel in it instead of landing on the roof, and died when landing on a different building for no apparent reason.) The game does not run fluidly, it gave the impression of running at around 20FPS. Instructions are very verbose, the interface is cluttered and instructions don’t stand out over the background.

It was OK to play, although it doesn’t seem to have any more depth than Canabalt and it’s not nearly as pretty to look at. You need a twist to make it worth playing.

(Note: I’m just pointing out the areas which are the most in need of improvement, in my opinion. I’m trying to be simple and direct, and I do not waste time sugarcoating my comments, but I’m not trying to put you down, just trying to offer heartfelt constructive criticism. I apologize if I misunderstood your intent and you were looking for unconditional praise instead.)

Flag Post

Hey Ace_Blue, thanks for the comment; yeah the game is still in development; was looking for other players/developers view on the game, I’d prefer that people point out the flaws/problem in a game since then I can work on the problems. Didn’t want praise or anything; just other players/developers views. :)