Defining a game system for firearms

12 posts

Flag Post

Before we start what will likely be a very long post, let me preface it with this disclaimer: I have never fired a gun in my life. The entirety of my meager knowledge about firearms comes from video games and from reading about guns on the internet. I am not an expert on ballistics by any stretch of the imagination, and I do not claim to be in any way, shape, or form.

Now that it’s out of the way, on to the problem. I have been considering the idea of creating a turn-based strategy game for some time, either as an RTS, or a pseudo real-time tactical combat a la Baldur’s Gate, or even truly turn based like the old X-Com series. I am not lacking for ideas about the settings or the features, but my lack of knowledge about how firearms work is hindering my ability to define a coherent game system. Namely, I would like to define a mathematical model that can take three physical objects (a weapon, a bullet and a shooter) and output quantities that are meaningful to a gamer, such as range, accuracy, or damage. Obviously, the influence of the third element (the shooter) on the results is the most subjective component, but even formally accounting for the first two will require some degree of abstraction, also known as ‘fudging’.

In so doing, I am looking for the expertise of people who know about firearms from a technical standpoint, and possibly have even tackled the problem themselves. I’ve looked up some information about single-shot, repeating and automatic weapons, the topics of recoil, and rifling. But I still have a lot of questions.