Beginning Spiral Knights Guide (Updated 12/11/2013)

175 posts

Flag Post
UPDATED 12/11/2013

This is a guide meant to aid and guide nubbies starting their way in Spiral Knights. A guide that would have made my life easier if it existed when I started playing.

First and foremost, useful links that you will be looking up during the course of your SK career to gain valuable information regarding darn well near everything. The single most important link that you'll be referring to each and everytime you have a question, the Wiki. Seriously, avoid pestering people about questions that takes seconds to wiki and is far more comprehensive at answering your question than most people would.

http://wiki.spiralknights.com/Main_Page

The SK forums provide an invaluable insight in the game and it's players and their thoughts and ideas. Emphasis given (in order of priority) to General Discussion/New Recruits, Arsenal and Announcements. From here, you can see discussions about current game meta, ask and receive answers to many questions you may have, news and updates from OOO, video links and even critical analysis of the various weapons gears, monsters and levels.

http://forums.spiralknights.com/en/forum

DISCLAIMER
As of updating this guide, I have not played as SK in a while. I do, however, keep track of news and updates. They do not come often and everything in this guide should still be completely relevant (par from a few discrepancies here and there).

STARTING OUT
When you first start your game, you will be in a tutorial level, a set of missions that teaches you the basic fundamentals of the ancient art of "making things that move not move anymore". It basically teaches you...well the basics. You'll get through quite quickly but remember to pick up everything that's dropped, especially the crowns (currency). The old rule of "destroy everything" no longer applies as much.