Comments for Defender's Quest (lengthy!) Demo

avatar for smiffe
smiffe

Jan. 29, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) This game needs higher speed :( 2x should be normal speed, and then have 4x and 8x.. Grind friendliness please ^_^

+ - !

(1)

avatar for Luponobrain
Luponobrain

Jan. 29, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) This game has a lot of potential. I like the connection of TD and RPG, this is the future. Also the customization is an important and great feature. I don't like the artwork, overall menu design and story, but that might just be me. The quotes between acts were refreshing, though. Now to the demo-version and your marketing strategy. It is not the right way! First, create a great game - done! Make it so people spend lots of time playing it, will not forget it, and most importantly, bring in your own name in a way that does not look like your forcing yourself on us, but that is, nonetheless, very memorable - Failed. Then soon you will have a great name that everyone knows. Right now you have the opposite. You created a great game, but wasted it, because most people will remember it as the demo-game, and worst case they will connect your name to that game. Think about it. I give 3/5, keep it up, hire me for marketing ;]

+ - !

(1)

avatar for smiffe
smiffe

Jan. 29, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) It's what ive been missing in all the other TD's! a STORY and a purpose! :D

+ - !

(1999)

Developer response from LevelUpLabs

Haha, thanks! We were really happy to have a USDA-certified English major work on the game! :D

avatar for aloe111
aloe111

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) ok, the bug went away after i reloaded. but will be better if we can can pay with kreds instead of cash, and have the content stay on kong instead of exporting

+ - !

(8)

Developer response from LevelUpLabs

Well, now you can. :D

avatar for dpunch444
dpunch444

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show)

+ - !

(-4)

avatar for aloe111
aloe111

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) BUG! I tried to complete the battle of karsk extreme challeng, and when i won, the vitory screen has a big ! and hanged.

+ - !

(0)

avatar for abaileyatd
abaileyatd

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Well, I bought it. But I will chime in to say this could be a top rated game if the full version was put up. I dont mind spending money on it, especially just 5 bucks, but I think you might do better in the future having people spend the 5 bucks on kreds to purchase bonus units/items etc. I 5/5'd it though, and look forward to playing through the whole game

+ - !

(3)

Developer response from LevelUpLabs

Thanks so much for the support! It was indeed a tough decision to make, but in the long run we're hoping to get on services like Steam too, and the distribution models between Steam and Kongregate are quite different. In any case, we hope you enjoy the full version!

avatar for Horosco
Horosco

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Very well done. I like that the story contributes to the gameplay. A lot of developers come up with some interesting story elements, only to leave them out of the gameplay completely. I would encourage you to consider making a version of the game on Kongregate that includes the full game, but allows players to purchase access to the full game via kreds. Remember, this is Kongregate, most Kongregate users are exclusive Kongregate players, and don't want to go to another site in order to play a game.

+ - !

(7)

Developer response from LevelUpLabs

Thanks so much! We'd like to figure out a way to make this happen too. The limitation right now is actually the size of the game - the full game is 70MB, which is a bit large for an online streaming service. It was designed to be a downloadable game (with full screen mode), but we were able to make the demo at least fit within 20MB. We'll see if we can figure out a compressed Kongregate full version eventually though.

avatar for AgentSnuggles
AgentSnuggles

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) I have never played a flash game worth paying for and this one is no exception, but giving it one star because it's not the full version is pretty childish. Rate what you got, not what you didn't get.

+ - !

(12)

avatar for theblade180
theblade180

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) I can see this game easily being one of the highest ranked games on Kong if it was the full game. What's with with this pay for the full version bull crap?

+ - !

(0)

avatar for Mikee123123
Mikee123123

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Just gunna add in there- If you had a job, 5$ is approx 45 minutes depending on minimum wage. 45 minutes. really. Not that much. To those who are complaining that its too much, go get a job, then spend YOUR money on what YOU want.

+ - !

(1)

avatar for xandramas
xandramas

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Sad thing is, this would be worth spending kreds on but im sure as hell not going to give the dev money through a link to another site through a demo on this site.

+ - !

(0)

avatar for xandramas
xandramas

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) 1/5 for being a demo. This is a full games site.

+ - !

(0)

avatar for Chubawuba
Chubawuba

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) I like it. But some of the spelling errors bug me, because they occur consistently.

+ - !

(0)

avatar for AlergyII
AlergyII

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Demo is bad enuf - but ..... its kong we got prty nice kreds system here ... why wouldnt you allow us to buy full game with kreds? Since its not so many kreds that might make some ppls actually buy whole thing. (also models like gemcraft where you buy for extra things works better nowdays)

+ - !

(1)

avatar for Fire7777
Fire7777

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Nice game However the "demo" is very short. good enough for a few stars as im guessing most people who like defense games will rate it. Its obvious they are not trying to win any prizes on this site but rather are here to promote their game. Which is cool but do not expect a high rating. In my humble opinion it would have been better to give way more away for free then had even better things that people could pay to unlock. (Example gemcraft). Which is the only game i have ever paid for on this or any site. Just my 2 cents 3/5. Good day.

+ - !

(5)

avatar for fredzed
fredzed

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Playing more I've given you an extra star since there is some depth to this demo and you've changed the description to make it obvious that this is just a demo.

+ - !

(2)

avatar for beeps
beeps

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) I know people are disappointed by demos, but this is actually a reasonable length game in its own right and should probably be judged as such. The story and gameplay are both good. The graphics aren't incredibly impressive, but they're more than functional. The developer seems to be responsive and interested in what the players are saying, which can only be a good thing. 4/5

+ - !

(8)

avatar for HerrSchnuff
HerrSchnuff

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show)

+ - !

(-3)

avatar for Mozai
Mozai

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Heads-up to people playing this game: this is only a seven-stage preview. You can redo the first seven stages at higher difficulties, but you only get 3 (of 6?) possible troop types and the plot's conclusion does not appear in this "prelude."

+ - !

(1)

avatar for LevelUpLabs
LevelUpLabs

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Modified the descriptions. Hopefully this helps some people.

+ - !

(5)

avatar for GD_FierceDeity1
GD_FierceDeity1

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) youi can shove that coupon right up your konghole....demo's are fail 1/5

+ - !

(0)

avatar for OneLeggedRhino
OneLeggedRhino

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) @Developer I'd put something in the description like "Demo with X levels and Y classes. Full game has XX levels and YY classes for $5." So we know what we're getting, and so we know what we'd be buying. Build the trust of gamers, so we're more comfortable buying. (Because wouldn't it suck if the $5 only got us a few more levels?)

+ - !

(185)

Developer response from LevelUpLabs

Fair enough - done. For what's it worth, we have only heard positive comments from those who did buy the full version. :)

avatar for Mysticaura
Mysticaura

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) @Larsiusprime: You never mentioned it was a demo. You didn't even give us hint of it. So if you had done so in the descriptions that maybe would have helped those people, me included, that got slightly if not really disappointed.

+ - !

(2)

avatar for OneLeggedRhino
OneLeggedRhino

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) I don't mind the demo, actually. It has around 10 levels and 3 classes, and is a solid (but short) game. 4/5 stars. The full game is $5 with the discount code, which is pretty reasonable. If paying $5 gets more developers making more games of this quality, I'm all for it. It's much better than recharging energy all the time.

+ - !

(9)

avatar for fredzed
fredzed

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) 1/5 for this demo. Keep Kong free of pay to play games.

+ - !

(4)

avatar for larsiusprime
larsiusprime

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) @Danaban: No, you CAN'T make enough money off of ads. On Super Energy Apocalypse, all the work I put into it meant I was earning about 30 cents an hour from ad revenue. If you don't like the game, vote it down, but don't call us greedy or evil. Most flash devs earn 90% of their revenue from sponsorships and non-exclusives. That was our original plan with this game, but the problem is there is a flat ceiling on how much you can earn, which means if you make a big enough game, every extra hour of work loses you money. Obviously this demo format was not a great fit for the kongregate audience's expectations and we'll take that into account in the future, but don't call us "the worst kind of game makers on the internet."

+ - !

(2)

avatar for Mikee123123
Mikee123123

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) If it was the full game, i can see an instant bump to the top game on kongregate. Too bad.

+ - !

(2335)

Developer response from LevelUpLabs

Well, that's certainly a compliment we're happy to take. We had to decide on a distribution model, and at the end of the day the long demo model just made more sense for us. But we're glad to hear you enjoyed it!

avatar for Izzybeau
Izzybeau

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) what a downer...I was really enjoying the game and then all of a sudden...to get full game...whatever...so tired of these types of games where you get into it and then get hit with the fact that you have to pay to finish it..was gonna rate it a 5...now I think 2 is the best I can do

+ - !

(1)

avatar for Mysticaura
Mysticaura

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Well, what can I say. The game was nice and I enjoyed it while it lasted. But I agree with Danaban here. The fact that you have to pay to actually finish the game it's a "no go" for me personally. There such other great TD-games like which are totally free and let you play till you're too tired to keep playing.

+ - !

(2)

avatar for overlord0
overlord0

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) its a ok game, i wouldnt pay for it though. You should probably bring the game out for free and code an expansion pack that you have to pay for. This is a free to play website so you should probably put this up on its own website or find somewhere else if you want people to pay for it. The game itself could do with a bit more work also, the skill tree could be made easier to understand.The music and graphics are ok. Implement a click and drag to move the troops if your gonna have limited amount of troops and multiple lanes. There is some things I probably missed out but someone else can post them up. Overall 3/5 stars.

+ - !

(-1)

avatar for Gheata
Gheata

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Very good needs a skip button

+ - !

(0)

avatar for DrSexus
DrSexus

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Forget the last comment... It's not a game, it's a demo. Usually in demos is better if you warn people. It says "prelude", but no "demo"... 2/5

+ - !

(3)

avatar for DrSexus
DrSexus

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Long time without a tower defense like this...

+ - !

(-1)

avatar for fecc
fecc

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) It's just a demo, name it accordingly. I tought its a similar game to defenders quest, you know, a flash version. I feel sad now.

+ - !

(3)

avatar for Mickk
Mickk

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show)

+ - !

(-5)

avatar for Mozai
Mozai

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) I'm loving the artwork!

+ - !

(0)

avatar for Danaban
Danaban

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Developers that demand money constantly off gamers are the worst types of game makers on the internet, not being funny. You can seriously make enough money off ad's, for god's sake at least make the game incredible enough to make people want to pay to play it. Not just to constantly try to seed money off innocent people who just want to play a fun, game. Terrible, terrible work.

+ - !

(23)

avatar for thimberwolf
thimberwolf

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) really start to like it

+ - !

(0)

avatar for superwombat
superwombat

Jan. 28, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Just an ad for a paid game. 1/5

+ - !

(3)

avatar for KeilMeister
KeilMeister

Jan. 27, 2012

Under rating threshold (show)

+ - !

(-4)

avatar for larsiusprime
larsiusprime

Jan. 27, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) If anyone has ANY questions, feel free to ask and I'll do my best to answer them.

+ - !

(0)

avatar for larsiusprime
larsiusprime

Jan. 27, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Also: for those who hate reading: Options Menu -> Miscellaneous -> Turn dialog / tutorials on/off.

+ - !

(5)

avatar for yazhor
yazhor

Jan. 27, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Would have been awesome if it was the full game..

+ - !

(1529)

Developer response from LevelUpLabs

We'll agree it's less awesome than the full game (which is definitely awesome), but we tried to make the demo long enough to stand against many other Flash games out there on its own. It's no Gemcraft: Labyrinth in length, but it should provide an hour or two of gameplay if you're not speed-running. :)

avatar for slasher
slasher

Jan. 27, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) =( I know you have to make profits, but that was just a downer for me. Anyways, the game is really great. I liked what I could play.

+ - !

(3)

avatar for PeacePipe
PeacePipe

Jan. 27, 2012

Under rating threshold (show)

+ - !

(-5)

avatar for WildWolfofDark
WildWolfofDark

Jan. 27, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) After the end of the 'free' part of the game, the mouse disappears.

+ - !

(8)

avatar for WildWolfofDark
WildWolfofDark

Jan. 27, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Interesting game, but I'm already looking for an x8 button.

+ - !

(2)

avatar for The_Idea_Men
The_Idea_Men

Jan. 27, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Still early in the game, but this is looking kinda REALLY awesome. There's a lot of clicking to get to the next line in the story, (well written though it is) that's a little annoying, but this game looks like it could suck away a good portion of my life over the next few days... big 5/5..... AND THEN I STOP FOR DINNER AND SEE THE ADVERTISEMENT TO SELL ME THE FULL GAME AND SAVE THE FILE ELSEWHERE ON MY CPU... yeah.... yeah... falling stars...

+ - !

(4)

avatar for yazhor
yazhor

Jan. 27, 2012

Under rating threshold (show) Woaaaaah! Gameboy graphics! :D Awesomee :)

+ - !

(0)

  • add a comment